Reviews

THE FACE SHOP Oil Control Water Cushion Foundation and Super Cover Concealer

My skin can never make up its mind on whether it is dry or oily, and so I recently took a trip to the mall to find a lightweight and moisturizing substitute for my foundation (which has been drying my skin out recently). After spending way too long in Sephora and finding nothing that fit my needs and was within my budget, I headed over to The Face Shop! The sales associate was incredibly friendly and suggested the Oil Control Water Cushion Foundation ($29 CAD). The best part was that I received the Super Cover Concealer ($15 CAD) as well for free! What a steal.

The Oil Control Water Cushion Foundation is a medium to full coverage cushion foundation (it looks like a low coverage on the swatch, but on the skin it is medium/full). I use the shade V201 Apricot Beige. As with most cushions, it is extremely easy to use; just press the sponge into the cushion and apply directly to your face. I find the provided sponge to be soft and smooth, and blends out the foundation quite easily; its small size allowing me to get into all corners of my face.

The box was smooth and silky, and felt quite luxurious!
The rim of the cushion compact is gold (so pretty!) and the mirror is very high quality, which works very well on the go. 

If you have dry skin, run out to buy this. I’m not joking when I say that it doesn’t emphasize dry patches or blemishes and looks like skin. On my dry skin it stays on for over 10 hours. In fact, I recently wore this to a 25 km hike up in Hockley Valley, Ontario (which, I must say is a beautiful place to hike in), and even after sweating throughout the day this stuff stays on! It keeps my skin looking velvety and fresh, which is probably thanks to its Microfoam technology. I do notice that it oxidizes perhaps 1 or 2 shades darker throughout the day, but it’s not too noticeable. You won’t look like an Oompa Loompa, don’t worry.

The shade Apricot Beige (V20)1.

However, this cushion foundation is definitely not for those with oily skin. I tried wearing this cushion on an extremely hot day, and I was so shiny I could be a mirror. It delivers on its hydration claims, but it doesn’t do a great job with oil control. I personally only wear this when my skin is feeling and looking dry. Perhaps the oil control aspect is for very minimal oily skin?

Online, The Face Shop offers 3 shades, however, in store there were at least 8 that I saw, which is amazing for a Korean brand (as they usually only offer a limited amount of shades for skin products). If you fit the shade range, I totally recommend this!

The Super Cover Concealer contains 20 g of product (compared to most concealers, this is a lot of product!) and is stored in a squeeze tube. This is great sanitation wise and practicality wise as it is easy to dispense the amount of product that you want without taking too much. The Super Cover Concealer is simply put, amazing. It’s smooth, creamy, easy to blend, and has a very full coverage. The concealer melts in seamlessly to completely erase discolouration and even textured blemishes, stays put for over 8 hours, and does not crease under the eyes. Unlike the cushion foundation, the concealer does not oxidize on me. I totally recommend this! In fact, this concealer is probably my holy grail. The only drawback to this concealer is the limited shade range, and in the summer, this concealer is definitely too light for me!

The shade Apricot Beige (V201). 

Overall, I would definitely recommend both the cushion foundation and the concealer. They are affordable and work very well for the price point they are sold at. The Face Shop is one of my favourite Korean brands and I am continuously impressed by all of their products!

^o^, Adela.

Leave a Reply

